Twenty-Seven Congressmen Comment to Oppose the ATF’s Homemade Gun Ban, Backdoor Registry

August 20, 2021
For immediate release

Twenty-Seven Congressmen Comment to Oppose the ATF’s Homemade Gun Ban, Backdoor Registry

Springfield, VA – Twenty-seven Members of Congress have commented on the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives’ Proposed Rule ATF 2021R-05 that effectively bans homemade guns, regulates gun parts with a background check, and prepares a backdoor gun registry.

The comment attacks the numerous problems in the Proposed Ruling, such as the ATF’s power grab (sidestepping the legislative process and evading federal law) and their preparation for a backdoor gun registry. The comment concludes:

Contrary to ATF’s claims that the [Proposed Rule] will ‘clarify’ various aspects of federal gun laws, in reality the proposed rule would inject ambiguity after ambiguity into an otherwise unambiguous definition of ‘firearm,’ which has existed unmolested since its enactment over half a century ago. These changes will cause significant problems not only for the law-abiding public and the courts in trying to apply the agency’s intent instead of a statute, but also for the firearms industry… By purporting to change the statute that Congress enacted, and by purporting to create entirely new federal crimes, the [Proposed Rule] violates this principle and should be withdrawn in its entirety.

Aidan Johnston, Director of Federal Affairs for Gun Owners of America, praised the Members, stating, “The gun owners who submitted over 60,000 comments generated by GOA are very pleased to be joined by these Representatives. These Members of Congress are taking their oaths to uphold the Constitution seriously by standing up to the tyrants at the ATF. Their stand earns applause from gun owners nationwide.”

The Members who commented participate in the Second Amendment Caucus, led by Rep. Thomas Massie and Rep. Lauren Boebert. They were joined by Representatives Ralph Norman , Randy Weber, Jeff Duncan, Scott Perry, Chip Roy, Alex Mooney, Louie Gohmert, Tim Burchett, Michael Cloud, Claudia Tenney, Tom McClintock, Greg Steube, Daniel Webster, Ted Budd, Andy Biggs, Mark Green, Jason Smith, Andy Harris, Mo Brooks, Marjorie Taylor Greene, Ben Cline, Matt Rosendale, Diana Harshbarger, Doug LaMalfa and Bob Good. Their comment can be read here.

The comment period ended August 19th, 2021 at 11:59pm Eastern Time. Of the over 290,000 comments submissions, over one in five was generated by GOA.

GOA is also thankful for Representatives Andrew Clyde and Ted Budd, Federal Firearms License (FFL) holders turned congressmen, who sent a firebrand letter to ATF urging them to withdraw this unconstitutional action earlier this week.

Aidan Johnston, or another GOA spokesperson, is available for interviews. Gun Owners of America is a grassroots nonprofit dedicated to protecting the right to keep and bear arms without compromise. For more information, visit GOA’s Press Center.

— GOA —