GOA Welcomes Kentucky to the Constitutional Carry Club!

Springfield, VA — Gun Owners of America (GOA) today congratulated the people of Kentucky, after Gov. Matt Bevin signed legislation bringing permitless carry to the Bluegrass State. Kentucky is now the 17th state to adopt Constitutional Carry.

“We are very grateful to Gov. Matt Bevin for signing GOA-supported legislation allowing citizens to carry concealed without seeking prior permission from the government,” GOA Executive Director Erich Pratt said. “And I want to thank all the GOA activists who spoke up in support of this bill, as well.”

Gun Owners of America mobilized the grassroots in the state in favor of SB 150 — and some of the GOA alerts are viewable herehere and here.

Kentucky is the third state to enact Constitutional Carry this year.  South Dakota joined the Constitutional Carry club in January, and Oklahoma followed in February.  GOA actively pushed both bills in South Dakota and Oklahoma.

“Gun Owners of America has been a vocal supporter of Gov. Bevin,” Pratt said.  “And his actions today demonstrate that he is a firm defender of the Second Amendment.”

The Bluegrass State now joins the other 16 Constitutional Carry states: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, New Hampshire, North Dakota, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Vermont, West Virginia, Wyoming — and most of Montana.  By comparison, there was only one permitless carry state in 2000 — that being Vermont.

Erich Pratt, or another GOA spokesman, is available for interviews. Gun Owners of America is a nonprofit lobbying organization dedicated to protecting the right to keep and bear arms without compromise. GOA represents over 2 million members and activists.