GOA Applauds Sen. Cruz’s Bill to Fight Biden’s Illegal Gun Registry 


April 28, 2022

Washington, D.C. – Today, Gun Owners of America (GOA) applauds Senator Ted Cruz (R-TX) and 21 cosponsors on officially introducing a Congressional Review Act (CRA) Joint Resolution of Disapproval. This act would prohibit President Biden’s Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) from implementing a new rule that expands the legal definition of a firearm and swells the expansion of ATF’s near-billion record gun registry.

The senators joining Sen. Cruz are Senators James Lankford (R-Okla.), Mike Braun (R-Ind.), Mike Lee (R-Utah), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Bill Hagerty (R-Tenn.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), John Thune (R-S.D.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), Cynthia Lummis (R-Wyo.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Roger Marshall (R-Kan.), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), John Barrasso (R-Wyo.), Mike Crapo (R-Idaho), James Risch (R-Idaho), James Inhofe (R-Okla.), John Hoeven (R-N.D.), Josh Hawley (R-Mo.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), Mike Rounds (R-S.D.), and Rand Paul (R-Ky.).

Aidan Johnston, GOA’s Director of Federal Affairs, commented:

“President Biden’s recent move to expand ATF’s gun registry is illegal, and we applaud Senator Cruz and his colleagues for fighting this unconstitutional rule with a Joint Resolution of Disapproval. GOA will sue the Biden administration to halt the implementation of this anti-Second Amendment rule and is pleased to see members of the Senate sending a clear message that they will not tolerate this unlawful abuse of authority.”


On April 10th, GOA called for a CRA in a press release stating: “Congress must provide oversight by striking down ATF’s illegal gun registration rule using the Congressional Review Act and passing Rep. Michael Cloud’s No REGISTRY Rights Act to eliminate ATF’s billion-record gun registry.”